John Richard Hicks

Great Britain Nobel Prize Winner

Nobel Prize Winner

The Nobel Prize is considered to be the highest honor given to scientists, writers and peacemakers (individuals, politicians or organizations).
The award goes back to the Swedish chemist, inventor and industrialist Alfred Nobel (1833–1896).

Nobel had stipulated in his will that a foundation should be established with his fortune, the interest profits of which should be given in the form of a prize to the people who had rendered the greatest benefit to mankind in the past year.

The money should be divided equally for special achievements in the fields of physics, chemistry, physiology or medicine as well as literature and for peace efforts.
The Nobel Foundation was established – following Nobel’s request – on June 29, 1900 and in 1901 the first Nobel Prizes were awarded in 1901.
The winners will be announced in October, while the official award ceremony will take place on December 10 – the anniversary of Nobel’s death – with the exception of the Nobel Peace Prize in Stockholm.

The Nobel Peace Prize is presented in Oslo.

In 1866 Alfred Nobel developed the explosive “dynamite”. There is evidence that his conscience, because of the use of explosives as a weapon of war, led him to write his will to establish the Nobel Foundation.

However, there is no reliable evidence for this interpretation.

Only those Nobel Laureates who were British citizens at the time of award are listed here.

Nobel Peace Prize Laureate

Award winner Award Reason for the award
John Hume
(born 1937)
1998 Together with David Trimble from Northern Ireland:
For your efforts to find a peaceful solution to the Northern Ireland conflict
David Trimble
(born 1944)
1998 Together with John Hume from Northern Ireland:
For your efforts to find a peaceful solution to the Northern Ireland conflict
John Richard Hicks
Polish-British physicist
1995 Along with the Canadian Pugwash Conferences on Science and World Affairs:
For their efforts to reduce the role of nuclear weapons in international politics
Amnesty International
(founded in 1961 in London)
1977 For their commitment to political prisoners
Betty Williams
(born 1943)
Awarded in 1976,
obtained in 1977
Together with Mairead Corrigan from Northern Ireland:
Founders of the “Northern Ireland Peace Movement”
(now called: “Community of Peace People”)
Mairead Corrigan
(born 1944)
Awarded in 1976,
obtained in 1977
Together with Betty Williams from Northern Ireland:
Founders of the “Northern Ireland Peace Movement”
(now called: “Community of Peace People”)
Philip Noel-Baker
1959 For his commitment to international peace
John Boyd Orr
1949 Organizer and Director of the General Food and Agricultural Organization
President of the National Peace Council
and the World Union of Peace Organizations
The Friends Service Council
(Quaker Peace and Social Witness)
1947 Quakerism (founded in the mid 17th century) represented by “The Friends Service Council” in London
and “The American Friends Service Committee in Washington” (awarded to both)
Robert Cecil
1st Viscount Cecil of Chelwood
1937 Founder and President of the International Peace Campaign
Arthur Henderson
1934 Chairman of the Conference on the Disarmament of the League of Nations (1932-1934)
Norman Angell
Awarded in 1933, received in
Member of the Executive Commission of the League of Nations and the National Peace Council
Austen Chamberlain
Awarded in 1925, received in
Negotiating partner for the Locarno Treaty
William Randal Cremer
1903 Founder of the “Inter-Parliamentary Union for International Arbitration

Nobel Prize in Literature

Award winner Award Reason for the award
Kazuo Ishiguro
(born 1954 in Nagasaki)
2017 He received the award for his novels, which, with their strong emotional impact,
exposed the abyss in our supposed connection with the world
Doris Lessing
2007 The epic woman of female experience who, with skepticism,
passion and visionary power
, has set out to test a fragmented civilization
Harald Pinter
2005 Who in his dramas exposes the abyss beneath everyday chatter
and breaks into the closed space of oppression
VS Naipaul
(born 1932)
2001 For his works, which
combine sensitive storytelling and incorruptible observation
and force us to see the present of suppressed history
William Golding
1983 For his novels, which illuminate human conditions in today’s world with the vividness of realistic storytelling
and the ambiguous general validity of the my
Elias Canetti
1981 For his literary work, characterized by foresight,
inventiveness and artistic power “
Winston Churchill
1953 For his mastery in historical and biographical presentation
as well as for the brilliant eloquence with which he
emerges as a defender of the highest human values
Bertrand Russell
1950 As a recognition for his multifaceted and meaningful authorship,
in which he emerges as a champion of humanity and freedom of thought
TS Eliot
1948 For his notable achievement as a pioneer in today’s poetry
John Galsworthy
1932 For the noble art of narrative
which finds its highest expression in “The Forsyte Saga”
George Bernard Shaw
1926 – received in
1925 – awarded
For his
authorship, carried by both idealism and humanity, whose fresh satire is often combined with
a peculiar poetic beauty
Rudyard Kipling
1907 In recognition of the powers of observation, the primal imagination
and the male strength in conception and portrayal that
characterize the creations of this world-famous writer

Alfred Nobel Memorial Prize for Economics

The Alfred Nobel Memorial Prize for Economics does not go back directly to Alfred Nobel’s will, but was donated by the Swedish Reichsbank in 1968 on the basis of the Nobel Prizes on the occasion of its 300th anniversary.
The prize was awarded for the first time in 1969 to the Norwegian Ragnar AK Frisch (1895–1973) and the Dutchman Jan Tinbergen (1903–1994).

Award winner Award Reason for the award
Angus Deaton
US Citizen and Citizen of Great Britain
(born 1945)
2015 For his analysis of consumption, poverty and welfare (welfare state)
Christopher Pissarides
Cypriot-British economist
(born 1948)
2010 Together with the Americans Peter A. Diamond and Dale Mortensen:
For their analysis of markets with friction
Clive WJ Granger
2003 For methods to analyze economic time series
with mutually changing trends (cointegration)
James Mirrlees
(born 1936)
1996 Together with the American William Vickrey:
For their fundamental contributions to the economic theory
of incentives with different degrees of information of market participants
Ronald Coase
(born 1910)
1991 For his discovery and clarification of the importance of the so-called
transaction costs and the rights of disposal for the institutional structure
and the functioning of the economy
Richard Stone
1984 For his pioneering work in developing
national accounting systems,
which radically improved the basis of empirical economic analysis.
William Arthur Lewis
1979 Together with the American Theodore W. Schultz:
For her groundbreaking work in researching
economic development
with special consideration of the problems of developing countries
James Edward Meade
1977 Together with the Swede Bertil Ohlin:
For her groundbreaking work in the field of the theory
of international trade and the international movement of capital
Friedrich Hayek
1974 Together with the Swede Gunnar Myrdal:
For her pioneering work in the field of money and business cycle theory
and her profound analyzes of the mutual dependence
of economic, social and institutional conditions
John Richard Hicks
1972 Together with the American Kenneth Arrow:
For her pioneering work on the general theory
of economic equilibrium and the welfare theory

John Richard Hicks