Western Sahara Flag and Map

Western Sahara Overview

The Western Sahara (Arab. الصحرة الغربية ‎, al-Ṣaḥrā’ al-Gharbīyya, esp. Sáhara Occidental) is a disputed, non-self-governing region in northwest Africa, formerly a Spanish colony. Its border neighbors are Morocco to the north, Algeria to the northeast, and Mauritania to the east and south. To the west is the Atlantic Ocean. The largest city is El […]